Parts Parts Parts

Not much posting lately, blame it on the elections.

Updates to my VO Campeur build include the following purchases pictured below.

Dia Compe Downtube Racheting Shifters

Long Setback Seatpost

Gran Compe 80mm Stem and Non-Aero Dia Compe Levers

Gear and Brake Housing and Cables

Canti Brakes

Brooks B17 Narrow Saddle

42cm Gran Compe Bars

So my saddle came tonight and because I’m a bit crazy in the head I took it out for a spin after Walt went down for his bedtime. Pitch black out but boy did it feel nice.

Some might think why did I go with Non-Aero levers? Simple answer is, that’s what I wanted. A better reason is because that is what I am used to and like the classic look. Other reasons – cheaper, less mechanical small parts, more reliable and can easily repair cables instead of being caught under the bar tape. Downtube shifters? Well they worked for Eddy Merckx and I like to be able to not be locked into index shifting. If something goes wrong on the bike and I’m caught a 100 miles from home I like to think my friction shifting could get me home better than a messed up index shifter. Never know what will happen – case and point. I was 40 mi away this summer and my brake cables snapped at the lever. I took it to a bike store, they replaced the cable and I was quickly on my way and they did it for free.

What’s left is the drive train and the wheels/tires. I plan on getting Shimano derailleurs with a double crank but not sure which crank I will purchase. Wheelsets here. Tires here. I planned on getting 35mm Clement tires but will slim down to 32mm due to the Panaracers being less nobby.  Fenders, hammered – here. Might go smooth though. Anyone have an opinion on that? What’s left would be handlebar tape, small stuff.

I plan on getting a long cage rear derailleur. My friend Reis Costa who lives in Chattanooga, TN and has been providing suggestions to me and has really been helpful, (Not to mention the VO staff – IGOR!!). Reis sells vintage bicycles and refurbishes them. If you’re in the area shoot him a message here.

Almost there. Looking forward to the finish.

Leave a Reply

