Fly by Cycle

Incredible shots but more cool is to look down at these miles of landscape and say that you’ve biked those roads and trails. Very cool.

gypsy by trade

WPBlog001 195

Above: 13,588ft Cottonwood Peak at sunrise.

A $150 plane ticket from Albuquerque to Denver is a relative bargain, considering that I purchased it last minute and that it allowed me to keep my schedule at work and to be in Denver in the morning for NAHBS.  Still, I was determined to make the most of the expense and a little reconnaissance from the air is always inspiring.  Incidentally, I was almost always within sight of something I recognized on the ground and something I have ridden by bike, including some local routes in the Jemez Mountains, the Great Divide Route, and the Colorado Trail.

Flying above the Jemez Mountains and the Valles Caldera near Albuquerque and Santa Fe, Cochiti Canyon is at the bottom of the frame.  About a month ago, I stole away for a multi-day trip out of town on the Pugsley.  Riding into the night…

View original post 343 more words

2 comments

  1. Hey Robert, Thanks for sharing this. I’d only had several hours of sleep and had full intentions of sleeping on the plane, but as the sun came up I followed familiar routes out the window, bright-eyed the whole time.

    nicholas

Leave a Reply

